Bayard Mine Tile

Brassac-les-Mines

Description

In the south of the Puy-de-Dôme, Auvergne has had a large mining basin. The Bayard site in the commune of Brassac-les-Mines is a fine example of this mining heritage.

The metal headframe is the emblematic element of the "tile", the surface area of the mine. Installed in 1924, it was used to drive gears and cables that set the elevator shaft in motion, leading underground miners to their posts. The base of the headframe was covered with a building that protected the now filled well. On the other side of the street, 2 buildings from the daily life of miners remain: the "lamp shop" building (now a concert hall) which was used for the maintenance and storage of lamps and the "hot room" which housed the cloakroom called the "hanging room".
Next door, don't miss a visit to the mine museum, located in the former engine room.
At 3 km from La Combelle, discover another square of the mine.

  • Themes: industrial site, mine

Categories

  • 20th C

Prices

Free access.

Services / Equipment

  • Pets allowed
  • Parking
  • Picnic area
  • Car park
  • Coach parking
  • Pets welcome

Opening

From 01/01 to 31/12/2023, daily.

Spoken languages